Desert Island Discs

NMNL
Today’s Writing 101 topic was to make a list. I love lists! I wasn’t entirely convinced I’d be able to finish this one in time to post it, but I’m going to give it a try.

I spent my twenties (and then some) working at Tower Records, a job I loved which gave me a lifetime of memories and adventures. Tower had a free magazine each month, Pulse and in each issue there was a section called “Desert Island Discs” which featured an artist or industry icon’s list of 10 albums they would want with them on a desert island. I’ve made this list dozens of times during my Tower years and many times since. Here is my most recent list (in no particular order):

The Beatles – Abby Road
The Smiths – Hatful of Hollow
Peter Gabriel – Passsion
James Taylor – Greatest Hits
Radiohead – OK Computer
R.E.M. – Reckoning
Bob Marley – Legend
The Police – Reggata De Blanc
Rufus Wainwright – Rufus Wainwright
Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan & Michael Brook – Night Song

** edited and updated with youtube links to listen to the albums (hopefully) **

25 thoughts on “Desert Island Discs

  1. I worked at Tower Records too and lament it’s demise. I was actually working the day we got the news that it was going out of business. Loved the job (hated the pay!) Looking forward to reading more from you. I like most of your list ;-)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OMG! I LOVED Tower Records. When I worked downtown NYC, there was a Tower on…I think it was Maiden Lane–or somewhere around there. I spend many lunch hours there. I lived on the Upper West Side and could oftentimes be found at that Tower location as well. In fact,…..Carly Simon came up to me when I was at the UWS Tower and mentioned how cute my son was (he was about 2 and in his stroller). I thought that was so cool. To this day, I am always changing my DID’s. You have given me food for thought. My most recent DID’s. 1. Laurent Voulzy “Belle ile en Mer”. 2. Warren Zevon “Excitable Boy” 3. Jimi Hendrix “Are You Experienced “4. The Kinks “Kinks Kronicles” 5. Boney M. “Best Of. 6. Amelie Soundtrack 7. John Mayer “Room for Squares 8. Suarez “On Attend”. 9. Joni Mitchell “Hits”. 10. Steven Stills “Steven Stills 2”.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wonderful! I was a HUGE fan of Tower for years before I worked there, my uncle was a music fiend too and he’d take me to the one in San Diego (and a couple of times when were in LA to the store on Sunset) and we’d shop for hours! I miss it still.

      Love your DIDs! Some of those I haven’t heard for ages and I need to again. I loved Amelie but I’m not sure I have the soundtrack, time to hunt that down, I bet it’s as fun as the movie.

      Like

  3. You’re not completely faulty genetically (at least on the music front…). You do like The Beatles and R.E.M… So maybe you can be genetically re-engineered after all…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I unfortunately cannot say that I know all those albums. But seeing Abbey Road and Legend on the list reminded me of when I was a child and my dad would put the Beatles or Bob Marley on and I would try to sing with him. Thank you for reawakening those memories.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.