Blogging Prompt : Favorite Mistake

tower-records-logo

In response to today’s Blogging 101 task. To pick a prompt and write about it.

Favorite Mistake Is there a mistake you’ve made that turned out to be a blessing — or otherwise changed your life for the better?

It was probably a mistake to defy my parents and work in a record store. Too bad for them it was a lifelong dream. My uncle used to take me to record stores in Pacific Beach during the summers. We’d listen to music and browse the albums for hours. What 9 year old can look through albums for hours? This one. I was born a music junkie and I’ll die a music junkie and in between I will love to thumb through records and spend nearly every waking moment of my life with music playing in the background. (FYI I am at this moment listening to Coin – Run)

It was probably a mistake to drop out of college when my classes and homework interfered with going to concerts, but who can refuse free concert tickets? Not me that’s for sure. I’ve seen some of the most amazing concerts and was backstage at more than half of them. I’ve met my idols (Keith Richards) met some artists I was just fond of until I met them and realized how amazing they are (Tori Amos), met bands I loved then instantly regretted it because they were assholes (The Cult), been given a necklace from a band I’d not heard of until they played a dive bar in Phoenix and they made me a fan (Tool) and even had a band come to my store for an in-store performance because it was my birthday. I’ve seen more concerts than I can count, although the stack of ticket stubs is about 3 inches thick, someday I’ll figure out a way to frame them.

10+ years at Tower Records and it was probably a mistake, but I really can’t think of any better way to spend my 20’s. It was the best ride ever. I have such fun memories (and a lot of very fuzzy memories) and I’d never say I regret it. Sure it delayed college and may have stunted my boring grown up jobs, but my record collection is kick ass!

21 thoughts on “Blogging Prompt : Favorite Mistake

  1. This was a great post! Your life may not have gone the way your parents had envisioned it, but that’s okay! You did want you wanted to do and it sounds like you had the time of your life! I think what’s most important is that you are happy with how things turned out because ultimately it’s YOU living your life, not anyone else. Also, you’re not the only person obsessed with much; I can’t stand not having something playing in the background (unless I’m watching TV or something lol). ;)

    Sometime you should do a post about your record collection – I’d love to see it!

    <3 and harp strings,
    Kate

    Like

  2. Pingback: Anandhotep runs after his dream…leaving tattered bandages in his wake. | Anand's Parodies & Caricatures.

  3. This is a wonderful post. Like you, I grew up thumbing through records and going to concerts. I still collect records and go to concerts. Paul McCartney is truly an icon. I saw him in Detroit in 2011 and at Bonnaroo in 2013. Very happy to find a like-minded music junkie on here.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.